So THIS is life

I stand Alone

   With the waves crashing against my legs

The wind whips my hair all around

I see the storm

  Moving quickly toward me

Yet I cannot make myself move

I am rooted deep within the sea

   My feet are buried calf deep

In the wet moist sand of the under belly of the ocean

The grains are whirling in the wind

   Stinging my bare skin

I watch a gull fighting against the force of air

   And yet I still cannot budge

I hear the rain as it starts to shoot out of the sky

   But I’m numb to the beating I know is coming

I shiver from the cold that has seemingly snuck up on me

   A long piece of sea weed grabs my leg

And holds on as if it’s afraid to meet the shore

   As I look back I see that the land has leaped far away from me

I stretch my arms out

Tilt my head toward the sky

And I let the rain pour over me

   Washing away all the pain and dirt

The sorrow and fears

I begin to breathe in deep refreshing breaths of salty air

    I feel free

    I feel relaxed

And just then the sun light begins to peek out at me

As if to say, did you miss me???

I pull my legs from the sands

And let the waves take away the last remaining bits of my pain

   And as I slowly make my way back

   Through the waters toward the shore

I feel the heat of the sun on my back

I feel the hard ground against my feet

I lean down and pick up a piece of drift wood

    As I carve the words into the soil

I stop to watch a gull land near by curious by what I would write

   I walk away to let the oceans slowly eat my words

“SO THIS IS LIFE”

Published in: on July 9, 2007 at 11:06 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kathleenrose.wordpress.com/2007/07/09/so-this-is-life/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. this is so beautiful and refreshing. =]

  2. Rob Frazzini approached me looking for a new look to his site using WordPress as a CMS along with a matching Forum and Shop.


Leave a comment